About Ursus


Questions about submissions should be sent to the Ursus Editor-in-Chief, Jerry Belant.


For submissions, see Instructions for Authors.

About the Journal

Ursus includes articles on all aspects of bear management and research worldwide.  Original manuscripts are welcome.  In addition to manuscripts reporting original research, submissions may be based on thoughtful review and synthesis of previously-reported information, innovative philosophies and opinions, and public policy or legal aspects of wildlife conservation.  Notes of general interest are also welcome. Invited manuscripts will be clearly identified, but will still be subject to peer review.  All manuscripts must be in English.  All manuscripts are peer-reviewed, and subject to rigorous editorial standards.

Prospective Authors

Membership page. Ursus is sent directly to all full IBA members, twice-yearly.

Jerry Belant

Editorial Staff


Jerry Belant, Mississippi State, Mississippi, USA

Advisory Board

Dave Garshelis, Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Bruce McLellan, Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Harry Reynolds, Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Chuck Schwartz, Bozeman, Montana, USA
Mike Vaughan, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Frank van Manen, Bozeman, Montana, USA

Associate Editors

Eve Bellemain, SPYGEN, Le Bourget du Lac, France
Paolo Ciucci, University of Rome, Italy
Cecily Costello, Manhattan, Montana, USA
Dwayne Etter, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, USA
Malcolm Fitz-Earle, Capilano College, Canada
David Hamer, British Columbia, Canada
Grant Hilderbrand, National Park Service, Alaska Region, USA
Oscar Huygens, Larchant, France
John McDonald, US Fish and Wildlife Service, USA
Craig McLaughlin, Utah Division of Wildlife, USA
Sterling Miller, National Wildlife Federation, USA
Owen Nevin, CQUniversity, Gladstone, Australia
Shyamala Ratnayeke, University of Dodoma, Tanzania
Martyn Obbard, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Canada
S. Sathyakumar, Wildlife Institute of India, India
Richard Shideler, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, USA
William Siemer, Cornell University, USA
Frank van Manen, US Geological Survey, USA
John Waller, Glacier National Park, USA