IBA Grants Program

Research & Conservation Grants

Experience & Exchange Grants

Travel Grants

About the IBA Grants Program

John Sheldon Bevins in northern Alaska (Photo courtesy of Julia Bevins) © J. Bevins

The John Sheldon Bevins Memorial Foundation was established following the death of bear researcher John Bevins. He, along with a fellow biologist and their pilot, disappeared during a polar bear monitoring flight over Alaska's Arctic Ocean on October 11, 1990. The Foundation was established by John's widow, Dr. Julia Bevins. The International Association for Bear Research and Management (IBA) was named as recipient of a portion of the earnings from Foundation deposits to memorialize John Bevins' dedication to bears and improved bear management.  It has been upon this generous gift that the current IBA Grants Program was established.

For 12 years the IBA Grants Program provided funds for research and conservation projects through the Bevins Foundation, and also included travel grants for IBA conference attendees. Since that time, the Travel Grants Program has grown through seed monies allocated by the IBA Council to Conference Organizing Committees, and continues to grow today.

The Bear Conservation Fund

The Bear Conservation Fund  (BCF) was initiated in 2004 to build on the 12-year success of the Bevins-funded grants programs.  Created to increase IBA’s capacity to provide finding for grants, the Bear Conservation Fund has boosted  IBA’s impact on global bear conservation.  Each year it now supports 6-10 Research & Conservation grants, 1-4 Experience and Exchange Grants, several conference travel grants, and a small grant to the Action Fund of the IUCN Bear Specialist Group, totaling approximately $80,000/year.  Donations to the BCF come from annual charitable distributions of the John Sheldon Bevins Memorial Foundation and the Homer Bear Conservation Fund, an IBA donor-advised endowment, as well as from generous individual donors and zoos.  For additional information about the Bear Conservation Fund, contact BCF Chair Julia Bevins at (907) 223-3483.

The Grants Program Today

The overall grants program has grown significantly both in the amount and number of grants awarded.  In addition, the program's scope has broadened, and three different categories have since been established: 1) Research & Conservation Grants, 2) Experience & Exchange Grants, and 3) Travel Grants.

Grants Program History PDF>>>

Grant Awards through 2014 PDF>>>